top of page

PSO April 30 Concert "Fabulous Fours"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140)



Join us on Saturday, April 30 at 7 pm for the concluding concert of our 102nd season entitled “Fabulous Fours” under the baton of Maestro Charles Prince. Itay Goren will be the soloist for Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 followed by Brahms’ masterful Symphony No. 4. This in-person concert will also be livestreamed on the PSO YouTube Channel.

Beethoven was the soloist for his Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58, completed in 1806 and first performed during a March 1807 private concert at the palace of his patron, Prince Franz Joseph von Lobkowitz. With an unprecedented concerto opening, Beethoven begins with the solo piano and not an orchestral introduction. A sublime, continuous dialogue between the solo piano and the instrumental voices of the orchestra emerges throughout. Our featured piano soloist Itay Goren’s playing has been described as “an evocative journey from shimmering excitement to calm contemplation.” (Classical New Jersey). Mr. Goren has performed in Europe, Asia, the Pacific and the United States. His recitals in Madrid, Prague, Paris, and New York City have been greeted with high acclaim.

Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor Op. 98 (1885) is a key, titanic work in the classical repertoire and might be regarded as the pinnacle of his symphonic writing. The first movement (Allegro non troppo) is very melodic with long singing lines and great power. A musical snippet from the first four notes inspires everything. The second movement (Andante moderato) provides a calming melody in contrast to the anguished music that precedes it. The Allegro giocoso is a scherzo in a style that is very much a nod to Beethoven. In the finale movement (Allegro energico e passionato), Brahms reached back in time for his formal inspiration and used a passacaglia, in which a chord progression (this one from J. S. Bach’s Cantata No. 150) is the basis for a set of variations. This also is the only one of Brahms' four symphonies to end in a minor key.

Come be a part of this season ending celebration by again experiencing live music together.

Musicians and all attendees must show proof of COVID vaccination to attend. Please visit for current COVID Protocols put in place for the health and safety of all.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: Email: The Plainfield Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of its acclaimed music director Charles Pri

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: Email: The Plainfield Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of our acclaimed music director Charles Pri

bottom of page