top of page

PSO Opening Concert October 22 "Once Upon a Time"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140)

Under the baton of Maestro Charles Prince, the 103rd season opens on October 15, 2022 at 7 pm with “Once Upon a Time,” showcasing two works from the imaginary world. Tapiola, Op. 112 is Finnish composer Jean Sibelius’ mysterious final tone poem and the well-known Scheherazade, Op. 35 is a symphonic suite composed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and based on “The One Thousand and One Nights.”

The concert opens with Sibelius’ tone poem Tapiola, Op. 112 (“Realm of Tapio”). The piece was written in 1926 on a commission from Walter Damrosch for the New York Philharmonic Society. Tapio is the mythological spirit of the mysterious, remote forests of northern Finland who figures prominently in the Nordic folklore of the “Kalevala”. This haunting music evokes

bleak, desolate landscapes, icy ruggedness, and the strange play of light in northern latitudes.

The program concludes with the popular Scheherazade, Op. 35, composed by Rimsky-Korsakov in 1888. The composer was influenced by separate tales from the “Arabian Nights” but his stated intent was: “All I desired was that the hearer, if he liked my piece as symphonic music, should carry away the impression that it is beyond a doubt an Oriental narrative of some numerous and varied fairy-tale wonders and not merely four pieces played one after the other and composed on the basis of themes common to all the four movements.” It is full of glorious solo instrument opportunities including a recurring sinuous violin solo that is intended to suggest Scheherazade herself.

Join us in person for this fanciful and thrilling opening concert of the 2022-2023 season. Please visit for current COVID Protocols put in place for the health and safety of all.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PSO April 20, 2024 Concert "Journey Through the Night"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: The climax of the 104th season of the Plainfield Symphony will be the concert on April 20, 202

PSO March 16, 2024 "Just Strings"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: “Just Strings” is the theme for the March 16, 2024 concert at 7 pm. Maestro Charles Prince wil

PSO January 27, 2024 Concert "Let Justice Roll"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: This year’s free Family Concert, “Let Justice Roll,” on Saturday January 27, 2024 at 3:00 pm,


bottom of page