top of page

"Legends and a Pulitzer Prize"


Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140)


Email: 9/3/2021

Plainfield Symphony 102nd Season Opening Concert:

“Legends and a Pulitzer Prize”

The 102nd Season of the Plainfield Symphony begins October 2, 2021 at 7 pm with a much-awaited return to live performance. The program will introduce you to an American Pulitzer-Prize winning composer. It pairs much-loved works from two legends of the 19th Century – Johannes Brahms and Felix Mendelssohn. PSO’s own concertmaster, violinist Evelyn Estava will be featured under the baton of Maestro Charles Prince.

The concert will open with Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer, pianist and educator, George Walker’s Lyric for Strings. In 1990, he revised the second movement of his String Quartet No. 1 into this piece, which has become his most often-performed work. Mr. Walker passed away in 2018 at the age of 96 after a long and prolific life in music.

Johannes Brahms composed his only violin concerto in 1878. This Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77 is a virtuosic work for violin and orchestra that showcased the talents of his longtime friend, the Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim. The piece is known for its lyrical melodies and rich orchestration that are combined with a sense of grandeur as well as Hungarian folk rhythms. Soloist Evelyn Estava has earned recognition as one of the top performing artists in her native Venezuela and has made many appearances with orchestras in Europe and the Americas. She is passionate in each of her roles as concert violinist, chamber musician, clinician and teacher.

Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op.56, known as the “Scottish Symphony,” will conclude the program. Although the work does not contain authentic Scottish folk tunes, it is an atmospheric musical travelogue of the composer’s impressions from his 1829 trip there as a young man. The four-movement work is meant to be played as a continuous whole.

Come reunite with our Plainfield Symphony family as we gather anew to experience the healing power of inspiring music.

Musicians and audience must show proof of COVID vaccination to attend. Please visit for current COVID Protocols put in place for the health and safety of all.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: Email: The Plainfield Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of its acclaimed music director Charles Pri

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: Email: The Plainfield Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of our acclaimed music director Charles Pri

bottom of page