top of page

Plainfield Symphony 100th Season Concert: “Spring Festival: Schumann & Brahms”

The next musical offering of the 100th celebratory season of the Plainfield Symphony Orchestra, “Spring Festival: Schumann & Brahms,” will take place on March 21, 2020. This program pairs much-loved works that evoke spring and will once again feature PSO’s own concertmaster, violinist Evelyn Estava under the baton of Maestro Charles Prince.

Johannes Brahms composed his only violin concerto in 1878. ThisViolin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77 is a three-movement virtuosic work for violin and orchestra that showcased the talents of his longtime friend, the Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim. The work is known for its lyrical melodies and rich orchestration that are combined with a sense of grandeur as well as Hungarian folk rhythms. Soloist Evelyn Estava has earned recognition as one of the top performing artists in her native Venezuela and has made many appearances with orchestras in Europe and North and South America. She has been a frequent soloist with the Plainfield Symphony.

In 1841, Robert Schumann composed his Symphony No. 1 in B flat Major, Op. 38 “Spring Symphony.” Originally, each movement had its own title, with the first movement nicknamed "The Beginning of Spring", the second "Evening", the third "Merry Playmates", and the last "Spring in Full Bloom". However, their individual characters are expressed clearly enough in sound, a symphony that breathes and pulses with its own life.

Join us for this enjoyable musical welcoming of Spring.

The Plainfield Symphony is New Jersey's oldest community symphony and the third oldest in the country. Tickets for the 2019-2020 concerts are now on sale and can be purchased on our website, Tickets may also be purchased at the concert. You may download the season brochure here. Subscription concerts are held at the Crescent Avenue Presbyterian Church located at 716 Watchung Avenue, Plainfield and begin at 7pm.


Rebecca Perkins (908-561-5140)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PSO April 20, 2024 Concert "Journey Through the Night"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: The climax of the 104th season of the Plainfield Symphony will be the concert on April 20, 202

PSO March 16, 2024 "Just Strings"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: “Just Strings” is the theme for the March 16, 2024 concert at 7 pm. Maestro Charles Prince wil

PSO January 27, 2024 Concert "Let Justice Roll"

Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140) Website: This year’s free Family Concert, “Let Justice Roll,” on Saturday January 27, 2024 at 3:00 pm,


Die Kommentarfunktion wurde abgeschaltet.
bottom of page