• plainfieldsymphony

PSO 102nd Season


Contact: Mark Miller (908-561-5140)

Website: www.plainfieldsymphony.org

Email: info@plainfieldsyphony.org 8/23/2021

Plainfield Symphony Orchestra – 102nd Season

The Plainfield Symphony Orchestra is hopeful and excited to finally be able to reunite with our beloved audience and to begin anew with live performances. Under the baton of our acclaimed music director Charles Prince, these concerts will offer both the comfort of beloved masterpieces and performers as well as an introduction to the works of several lesser-known wonderful composers.

The season opens on October 2, 2021 with our esteemed concertmaster Evelyn Estava as soloist in the Brahms’ Violin Concerto. You will be introduced to an American Pulitzer Prize for Music winning composer, George Walker’s Lyric for Strings and the program will conclude with Felix Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony.

Always an anticipated audience favorite, the PSO “Pops Concert” on November 13, 2021 will include works by George Gershwin, Rogers and Hammerstein, some holiday music and other surprises. The vocal soloists will be returning critically acclaimed tenor Brian Cheney along with international opera contralto Alison Bolshoi.

Our annual free afternoon Family Concert will take place on January 22, 2022. This “Cultural Salute” will feature diverse works by American composers Ulysses S. Kay and William Grant Still as well as Venezuelan composer Aldemaro Romero.

“Fond Farewells” is the theme for the March 19, 2022 concert. Haydn’s “Farewell Symphony” will be paired with Schubert’s Symphony No. 9, “The Great,” which was his last symphonic work.

The 102nd Season will close on April 30, 2022 with “Fabulous Fours.” Israeli-born pianist Itay Goren will be featured soloist in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. The concert will conclude with Brahms’ monumental Symphony No. 4.

Come rejoice and reunite with the Plainfield Symphony Orchestra as it continues to bring quality and inspiring music to our local audiences.

Download DOCX • 56KB

0 views0 comments